Skip to content ā†“

June 2021: Although our office is still closed to visitors, you can still get a feel for MIT by signing up today for an šŸ”® online session or student-led tour.

What programs fall under the School of Architecture & Planning?

Architecture was one of the four original departments at MIT, and it was the first signal that MIT would not be narrowly defined in science and technology. Through recognition of architecture as a liberal discipline, the Department has long contributed to learning in the arts and humanities at MIT. Fall 2018 marks the 150th anniversary of architectural education at MIT.

The Department of Architecture is one of five divisions within theĀ MIT School of Architecture + Planning. The other divisions are: theĀ Department of Urban Studies and Planing, theĀ Media LabĀ (Program in Media Arts and Sciences); theĀ Program in Art, Culture, and Technology; theĀ Center for Real Estate; and the Norman B. Leventhal Center for Advanced Urbanism.

Did you find this article helpful?